All students who entered 9th grade in or after 2005 must meet assessment requirements in order to meet graduation requirements. Students take four assessments after they successfully complete the corresponding courses including Algebra/Data Analysis, Biology, Government, and English.

Maryland transitioned to PARCC in the school year 2014-2015 and starting in 2015-2016, students could meet graduation assessment requirements through either the PARCC or HSA. During the transition to PARCC, students could meet the graduation assessment requirement through participation only in English and Algebra/data analysis. The Government High School Assessment was reinstated after a one year pause during the 2012 General Assembly and was re-administered starting in the 2012-13 school year.

All students must meet the participation or passing scores as outlined here:

MHSA Status shows the number of students by grade and subgroup that have taken all HSA tests—Algebra/Data Analysis, Biology, English, and Government—and met the Maryland High School Assessment requirement for graduation.
View HSA Status Results >

MHSA Test Status reports the results for all test takers in each of the required High School Assessment exams.
View HSA Test Status Results >

High School Assessments (HSA)

The High School Assessments are end-of-course tests that students take as they complete the appropriate high school level course. All students including middle school students taking high school level courses, must take the High School Assessment after they complete the appropriate course. These courses currently include English, government, algebra/data analysis, and biology.

All students receive a score for each test they take. Scores are also reported for the state, school systems, and schools. The passing scale scores for all four of the content areas have been established. They are as follows:

Algebra 412
Biology 400
English 396
Government 394

Public Release Forms, sample test items, and additional information may be found on the School Improvement in Maryland Web site at,, and the Maryland State Department of Education Web site at

Modified High School Assessments (MOD-HSA)

The Modified HSAs - or Mod-HSAs are a series of end-of-course tests that cover core academic areas in Algebra/Data Analysis, Biology, English, and Government. The Mod-HSAs are alternate assessments based on On-level Academic Content Standards and Modified Academic Achievement Standards. The Mod-HSA tests are alternates to the tests in the HSA program and are designed for students with disabilities who, based on a decision-making process undertaken by their IEP team, meet specific eligibility criteria.